A Scrapbooking Swewi

This is the place where I share my creations!

Creativity is a funny thing

Posted by swewi on April 6, 2010

I have always envied people who has creativity as their job. You know – artists, composers, writers, graphic designers – you name it. In my “youth” I sort of had music as my profession, but I never really found it to be hard. I remember talking to Benny Andersson (you know, the beardy one in ABBA) one of the three times I met him about this. He actually “went to work” when writing his music. He was at his office/studio between 9-5, and did what he needed to do between those hours. I imagine him beeing more “free” with his hours being a famous millionaire and all, than average Joe graphic designer, but still. I envied the scene he painted for me.

Now that I have had a few tough assignments with deadlines to be met, my envy has lessend, and turned to admiration. I was late with one of those assignments this week, and it killed me. The reason was both having sick kids needing my attention, and a busy “mum schedule” in general, but also lack of imagination and creativity – just because I HAD TO BE just that; imaginative and creative. So, although I would like to have creativity as my profession, I’m not sure I would have what it takes!!

The Scrappin’ Patch retreat was two half days and one whole day, and two whole night as well of course. I was NOT inspired during that whole time, inspite of having endless amount of inspiration in the same room, and having NOONE to care for, apart from my self. Possibly because that particular assignment was supposed to be finished, and wasn’t. It was home on my desk, screaming for my attention.

NOW, when that assignment is finished, and couried away, my mojo hit me like a heatwave. I’ve been creating with no problem at all since that box was sent off on Saturday. I have created more in three days, looking after kids and doing all that stuff that a mother and wife does, than I did during my weekend away. Funny that…

OK. That was a big ramble, sorry about that. Time to share I think!

First a LO that I actually completed at the Scrappin’ Patch retreat, for a new sktech challenge on the Scrappin’ Patch forum.

Products used: Bazzill kraft cs, October Afternoon pp’s and embellies, Cosmo Cricket buttons, Little Yellow Bicycle & Jenni Bowlin alphas, misc twine, and even some sewing!!

Then a couple of the LO’s I have whipped up this weekend. Nothing amazing, but a few more LO’s for the girls albums! I found the recipes for the LO’s on a Swedish shop’s cybercrop, “Brunsons“. 

Title says “your world, so full of imagination”.

Products used: Bazzill kraft cs, Scribble Scrabble pp, Tattered Angels glimmermist & chipboard wing, Prima flowers, bling, alphas & ribbon, Jenni Bowlin butterfly, Carolee’s Creations alphas, misc pins, glass squares and chipboard frame from Neen’s kits.

Title says: “nice, lazy summerdays”.

Producs used: Bazzill cs, Basic Grey “Sugar Rush” pp, embellies & mini alphas, Robins Nest Dewdrops, MM vintage findings tab, AC alphas and flair, Prima flower and leaves.

Title says: “Lucky to be your dad”.

Products used: Bazzill cs, Bella Boulevard pp, Prima flower, BG buttons, Collage Press & Cosmo Cricket alphas, white journaling pen.

Title says “things we do in spring”.

Products used: Bazzill cs, October Afternoon pp’s, embellies & alphas, BG brads, Jenni Bowlin tickets, Sassafras Lass cloud, fabric from Neen’s kits, misc butterfly.

OK. Stay tuned for more stuff in a day or two. I’m gonna share something exciting… 🙂

7 Responses to “Creativity is a funny thing”

  1. Neen said

    AWESOME AWESOME PAGES!!!!! You so rock!

  2. Anna said

    Oj! Vilken uppdatering! 🙂 Superfina LOs allihop, men jag gillar särskilt den med tjejerna och deras pappa. 🙂 Såååå fin!!!

  3. Vicki said

    Fabulous pages there Annelie and I still thought you had your mojo at the camp too! LOL

  4. Hannah said

    I can definitely relate to what you are saying, although I’ve never had quite as many scrapbooking deadlines as you at one time! Nor have I had projects quite as challenging projects as the one you just completed. But it does make sense that your mojo is flowing again now that the pressure and stress has gone. Yay! I love all of these pages.

  5. creativity overload chickie!! I know what you mean about getting ‘stuck’ though, if there’s something you’re just not inspired to do then everything else gets backed up until you can get past it. I know with my job it’s not easy to be ‘on’ creatively all the time, and that’s when it really does become a job, as opposed to a creative way of making money. Can’t wait to see what this exciting thing you have to share is!

  6. Jane said

    I know where your coming from Annelie I am at this moment contenplating putting myself forward for a design team and I am wondering whether I have what it takes to be that creative and carry on with my other duties ie: wife ,mum and partime worker.
    I love your work and your an inspiration to me your also somthing of a perfectionist a good thing lol…….

  7. Michelle W said

    Hi babe! Can definitely relate to having those deadlines and trying to squeeze creativity out on demand… it does sound like having sick kids etc was really bad timing too. I am totally jealous about your scrapping this week… maybe I could just come and sit next to you … and some of the mojo might rub off? Gorgeous work as always… love ya stuff mwah.

Leave a Reply

 
